Subaru Enthusiasts Car Club of the Sierras  

Go Back   Subaru Enthusiasts Car Club of the Sierras > Car Enthusiast Forums > Technical Chat

Technical Chat Ask and answer technical car questions.

Old 2003-05-09, 08:41 AM   #1
dknv
EJ207

Car: RX-8
Class: CS maybe
Default Engine oil 15w50

A friend shared the following about motor oil. Some of you already know most of this, but I thought it would be a handy reference for the Tech Chat forum. Disclaimer, this does not represent opinion or sanction of SOA:

============================================
I am a mechanical engineer , so I know something of lubrication technology and bearings. I am, however, not an automotive engineer, so what I say has to be taken with a grain of salt.

The logic goes like this: Wrist pin, crank, and rod bearings bear the load from combustion chamber pressures and intertial forces.

The combustion forces go up linearly (at least) with engine output. There is a term, BMEP (Brake Mean Effective Pressure) which expresses the average cylinder pressure required to produce the horsepower and torque. Double the torque at a given rpm, and the BMEP has to be doubled at that point. Double the torque at a given rpm, and the horsepower doubles. The WRX produces around 113 hp/L (very high) and hence very high BMEP; consequently high bearing loads.

Bearing loads due to inertial forces increase with the SQUARE of the rpm. If you run consistently at high rpms, average bearing forces are higher.

So driving your WRX hard, making a lot of power (high BMEP) at high rpms really loads the bearings. Loads on the bearings are resisted by the oil film (which is partly hydrostatic (from oil pressure) and hydrodynamic (like hydroplaning on a wet road). Low viscosity oil has thinner films and less ability to resist these bearing loads. Oil temperature also goes up during hard usage, further reducing viscosity and oil film thickness.