Subaru Enthusiasts Car Club of the Sierras  

Go Back   Subaru Enthusiasts Car Club of the Sierras > Car Enthusiast Forums > Technical Chat

Technical Chat Ask and answer technical car questions.

Old 2003-11-20, 06:04 PM   #1
AtomicLabMonkey
Nightwalker

Car: '13 WRX

YGBSM
Default Wheel alignment tech (very long & lots of pics).

Ok, I thought I would write up how I've been doing my own front wheel alignments in my garage. As always in today's world, I'll put a little disclaimer: I am not a professional mechanic, use the following procedures at your own risk, be careful when working with cars, use jackstands, hold your mother's hand when crossing the street, be cool - stay in school, etc. etc., yada yada.

I've been changing chassis setups on my car a lot this year in an effort to get the handling under control, so I got tired of going to an alignment shop and decided to do it myself. The procedure does take some work, but once you buy a couple of relatively inexpensive tools, you can re-align the car forever for free. I know the Subarus use a strut suspension and some of you have the more high-end stuff like coil-overs & caster/camber plates, so I figured some of the group could use this too - if not now, maybe later after more upgrades.

Step 1: Find or make a flat, level surface.

To really get the corner ride heights and the alignment correct, you need a flat, level surface to work with. Easier said than done; even those of us who have cement garage floors usually don't have a perfect surface. Mine looked okay visually, but I decided to survey it anyway. I went to Sears and got a laser level (~$40),

and a wood 2"x4" a couple feet long from the hardware store, which I cut into small sections. I then marked the positions of all 4 tires when the car was sitting in the garage, rolled the car outside, and put one of those wood blocks in each tire position (sorry if some of these pictures are kinda dark).